Milton Mapes Song on new Robert Plant Album “Band of Joy”

“The Only Sound That Matters”, a song which first appeared on Austin-based band Milton Mapes 2003 album  “Westernaire”, has been recorded by Robert Plant for inclusion on his new record Band Of Joy,” (due out September 14th, 2010 in the US).  The song was actually written in 2000 by Monahans and Milton Mapes front-man Greg Vanderpool while he was living in Nashville, just prior to re-locating to Austin in 2001.  Milton Mapes’ version of “The Only Sound That Matters” was recorded in Austin at Ramble Creek Studio, by current Monahans members Britton Beisenherz, Roberto Sanchez and Vanderpool back in 2002.  Since then, the track has received critical praise in context of the “Westernaire” album, and was featured on a 2003 Starbucks/HearMusic compilation (alongside Gillian Welch, whose Woodland Studio–oddly enough–is where Plant’s album was made).