califone

Tickets are ON SALE NOW!

8/21 – San Diego CA – SOLD OUT
8/22 – Prescott AZ – SOLD OUT
8/24 – Santa Fe NM – SOLD OUT
8/26 – Austin TX – SOLD OUT
8/27 – Houston TX – SOLD OUT
8/28 – Fayetteville, AR – SOLD OUT
8/29 – Memphis TN – SOLD OUT
8/30 – Nashville TN – SOLD OUT
8/31 – Chattanooga TN – SOLD OUT
9/01 – Birmingham AL – SOLD OUT
9/03 – Atlanta GA – SOLD OUT
9/04 – Athens GA – SOLD OUT
9/05 – Knoxville TN – SOLD OUT
9/06 – Charlotte NC – SOLD OUT
9/21 – Burlington VT – SOLD OUT
9/22 – Rosendale NY – SOLD OUT
9/23 – Buffalo, NY – SOLD OUT
9/24 – Ypsilanti MI – SOLD OUT
9/25 – Indianapolis IN – SOLD OUT
9/26 – Downers Grove IL – SOLD OUT
9/27 – Milwaukee WI – SOLD OUT
10/01 – Denver CO – SOLD OUT
10/02 – Colorado Springs CO

overseas500

Overseas is David Bazan, Will Johnson, Matt Kadane and Bubba Kadane.

The debut album is out now and they’ll be playing a few shows in August and October. Please come out and say hello.

August 19 : New York NY – Mercury Lounge
August 20 : Brooklyn NY – Kitting Factory
October 11 : Seattle – Neumos
October 12 : Portland OR – Doug Fir Lounge
October 14 : San Francisco CA – Bottom of The Hill
October 15 : San Luis Obispo CA – SLO Brewing Co
October 16 : Los Angeles CA – Satellite

Will Johnson has a few shows coming up in Texas. Please come out and say hello!

Thursday, September 12
Austin TX / Living Room Show @ Yard Dog
* limited to 40 tickets.
BUY TICKETS

Friday, September 13
Ft Worth TX / Dia De Los Toadies 6 @ Panther Island Pavilion
with Toadies, James Hall
BUY TICKETS

Saturday, September 14
Marfa TX / Trans-Pecos Festival
with David Garza, Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, Dan Dyer
BUY TICKETS

We need your help! We’re looking for people to host Baptist Generals Living Room Shows September 16 – October 15.

We’ll make this as easy as possible for the hosts. All you have to do is let us borrow your living room for about three hours and in return you’ll get 5 free tickets for your friends and our eternal gratitude.

We’re looking for hosts all across the country. We’ll put together a final cities and dates once we have all the submissions in.

Deadline for submission is Wednesday, August 14
Tickets will go on sale Wednesday, August 21.

Please read everything below and get in touch right away if you can host a show… contact info at the end.

Here’s how it works.

1. You have a house or loft space that can comfortably and safely host 30-40 people. A place with a big living room, finished basement or other interior space would be ideal. Sorry, we can’t do these shows outside. There needs to be street parking or public parking nearby and your neighbors should be cool. It would be a huge bummer if someone called the cops because of all the extra cars and people coming to your house. You probably shouldn’t do this if you live in a small apartment with a bunch of uptight neighbors or a cranky landlord. Be realistic on how many people your place can hold. We need to know how many tickets we can sell in advance. We’ve found that 30-40 people is what the average living room can hold.

2. Your home address will not be published on the web and will only be given to people who purchase tickets. The shows will not be open to the public and no tickets will be sold at the door. All tickets will be sold through our website before the show. Ticket price will be $20. All tickets sales are direct to fans from Undertow. Limit 4 tickets per person. We want everyone to have the same chance of getting tickets. There will be no reselling or third-party tickets sales. We’ll cancel any tickets if we find them for re-sale.

3. We’ll provide a detailed list of everyone coming to the show so you can check people off the list as they arrive. You won’t have to deal with any money.

4. We’ll create a Facebook event for each show so you can easily invite your friends and help us spread the word.

5. You get 5 additional free tickets for the show. If you have other friends who want to come to the show you can direct them to the link to buy tickets on-line.

6. You don’t need any sort of sound system. All you need is a chair for Chris to sit on and some kind of ambient lighting like a lamp on a coffee table, floor lamp with a dimmer, etc.

7. There will be no opening acts on the living room shows.

8. We ask people to arrive after 7pm. The shows start at 8:00pm and are usually over by 9:30pm. We let everyone know they should be out of your house by 10:00pm.

After reading all of this, if interested please send an e-mail to:
baptistgenerals@undertowmusic.com

Please include a photo of the space where you would like to host the show and put “Chris Flemmons Living Room Show” and the city in the subject line of the e-mail.

We’ll review all requests and get back in touch to confirm shows once we have a routing figured out.

Thanks for your help!

testimonium

Testimonium Songs collects the song cycle composed by Joan of Arc (Tim Kinsella, Bobby Burg, and Theo Katsaounis) to be performed live in Testimonium, a work of performance by well-respected experimental theater ensemble Every house has a door. 

Testimonium responds — both in substance and in style — to Charles Reznikoff’s monumental work Testimony, a translation into poetry of courtroom transcripts of witness and victim testimonies in criminal cases and cases of workplace negligence, in the US, spanning the years 1885 to 1915.Performances of Testimonium incorporate modern dance, theater, and original songs written and played by Joan of Arc.

In a departure for the band, these highly structured compositions, developed over a two-year rehearsal period, emulate Reznikoff’s poetics by shaping themselves according to a mosaic method – rotating a fixed set of musical units in warping permutations.

The lyrics re-invent the strategies of Objectivist poetry, by turns surreal, ordinary, testimonial, and explosive, releasing the undercurrent of emotion in the poems while (almost) never quoting them directly.

Beyond collecting the Testimonium Songs, the record has a life of its own, with the contributions of stellar musicians David Grubbs, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Michael Zerang, and Jim Baker, additional vocals by Melina Ausikaitis, and musical material not included in the performance. The album does not feature recent Joan of Arc contributor/member, Victor Villarreal, as he and Kinsella are currently working towards the completion of a new Owls album.

The cover art was made by renowned Chicago artist Jason Lazarus.

The album will be released via Polyvinyl Record Co. July 30, 2013 on limited edition CD, hand-numbered LP (500 magenta, 500 black) as well as through all digital outlets. Testimonium Songswill also see a limited edition release of 100 purple tinted cassettes on Joyful Noise Recordings.

To showcase Testimonium in a live setting, Chicago Cultural Center presents, in association with Every house has a door, the world premier performances of Testimonium, October 17 – 20, 2013 at The Storefront Theater, Chicago.

Testimonium Songs Tracklist

1. Amelia
2. I’d Expect Babies Should Fly, If Not at Least Float Away
3. Mosaic of Bolts
4. Stephen’s Song
5. The Bird’s Nest Wrapped Around the Security Camera
6. Jury Duty

LINKS
Pre-order Testimonium Songs
Stream “Amelia” on Soundcloud
Every house has a door
View a trailer of the Testimony performance

mike-nau

We need you’re help … We’re looking for people to host Michael Nau solo shows from Ohio to Portland in June.

We’ll make this as easy as possible for the hosts. All you have to do is let us borrow your living room for a couple of hours and in return you’ll get 5 free tickets for your friends and our eternal gratitude.

We’re looking for hosts in the following cities:

Monday, June 3 : Akron OH
Tuesday, June 4 : Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, June 5 : Chicago, IL
Thursday, June 6 : Davenport, IA
Friday, June 7 : Omaha, NE
Saturday, June 8 : Denver, CO
Sunday, June 9 : Boulder, CO
Monday, June 10 : OFF / DRIVE
Tuesday, June 11 : Salt Lake City, UT
Wednesday, June 12 : Boise ID
Thursday, June 13 : Eugene, OR
Friday, June 14 : Portland OR
Saturday, June 15 : Portland OR

Please get in touch right away…
Deadline for submission is Tuesday, May 7.
Tickets will go on sale Friday, May 10.

Please read all of this… contact info at the end.

Here’s how it works.

1. You have a house or loft space that can comfortably and safely host 35-50 people. A place with a big living room, finished basement or other large indoor residential space would be ideal. There needs to be enough parking nearby and your neighbors should be cool. It would be a huge bummer if someone called the cops because of all the extra cars and people coming to your house. You probably shouldn’t do this if you live in a small apartment with a bunch of uptight neighbors or a cranky landlord.

2. The shows will not be open to the public and no tickets will be sold at the door. We’ll pre-sell all tickets for each show on our website before the show. Be realistic on how many people your place can hold. We need to know how many tickets we can sell in advance.

3. Ticket prices will be $15.

4. We’ll provide you with a detailed list of everyone who will be coming to the show. This way you won’t have to deal with money. All you have to do is check people off the list as they arrive.

5. The host gets 5 free tickets for the show. If you have other friends who want to come to the show you can direct them to the link to buy tickets on-line.

6. The shows usually start at around 8pm. We’ll ask people to arrive around 7:30pm. Michael starts playing at 8pm It should be over by around 9:30pm. We’ll make it clear to everyone that they should be out of your house by 10:00pm.

7. You don’t need to provide any sort of sound system. We’ll need a chair and some kind of ambient lighting like a floor lamp.

8. Your home address will not be published on the web and only given to those people who purchase tickets.

9. The shows will not be promoted or advertised anywhere except our websites.

After reading all of this, if interested please send an e-mail to:
michaelnau@undertowmusic.com

Please include a photo of the space where you would like to host the show and put “Michael Nau Living Room Show” and the city in the subject line of the e-mail.

We’ll review all requests and get back in touch to confirm shows once we have a routing figured out.

Thanks for your help!

Don’t miss these Living Room Shows!

June 12 : Salem OR – SOLD OUT
June 13 : Portland OR – SOLD OUT
June 14 : Portland OR – SOLD OUT
June 15 : Seattle WA – SOLD OUT
June 16 : Seattle WA – SOLD OUT
June 18 : Medford OR – SOLD OUT
June 20 : San Francisco CA – SOLD OUT
June 21 : San Francisco CA – SOLD OUT

BUY TICKETS HERE

Overseas: PRE-ORDER NOW!

April 4, 2013

overseas-album-cover-500

OVERSEAS:
David Bazan, Will Johnson, Matt Kadane and Bubba Kadane.

ALBUM PRE-ORDER: CD / VINYL / DOWNLOAD

Pre-order now // Release date June 11.

You’ll get an email with a link to a full-album MP3 download when your purchase is complete. Please don’t share this link, it’s just for you!

All cd and vinyl pre-orders will be shipped to arrive on or before June 11.

1 Ghost To Be
2 Redback Strike
3 Old Love
4 HELLP
5 Lights Are Gonna Fall
6 Here (Wish You Were)
7 The Sound Of Giving Way
8 Down Below
9 Came With The Frame
10 All Your Own

Mastered for vinyl from 24bit hi-resolution audio files.
Each LP comes with a download coupon inside.
Records pressed by Gotta Groove Records in Cleveland, OH.

Written, performed, and produced by Overseas.

Recorded by Matthew Barnhart, Britton Beisenherz, and Overseas.
Mastered at Chicago Mastering by Shelly Steffens and Matthew Barnhart.
Cello on “HELLP” by Randy Fromme.
Thanks to Amy Beisenherz.

Will-Johnson-western-states-poster

Will Johnson is heading to the western half of the country to play Living Room Shows in April! These shows are totally acoustic. It’s just Will playing songs. No sound system, no opening bands, no loud talkers at the bar!

Each show is limited to 35-45 tickets.

BUY TICKETS HERE

Wed April 10 – Tucson AZ – SOLD OUT
Thu April 11 – Los Angeles, CA – SOLD OUT
Fri April 12 – San Francisco CA – SOLD OUT
Sat April 13 – Oakland CA – SOLD OUT
Sun April 14 – Reno NV – SOLD OUT
Tue April 16 – Eugene OR – SOLD OUT
Wed April 17 – Portland OR – SOLD OUT
Thu April 18 – Portland OR – SOLD OUT
Fri April 19 – Seattle WA – SOLD OUT
Sat April 20 – Seattle WA – SOLD OUT
Mon April 22 – Cheyenne WY – SOLD OUT
Tue April 23 – Ft Collins CO – SOLD OUT
Wed April 24 – Colorado Springs CO
Fri April 26 – Denton TX – SOLD OUT
Sat April 27 – Forth Worth TX – SOLD OUT
Sun April 28 – College Station TX – SOLD OUT

Mark Todd designed a great poster for the tour. They’ll be on the merch table at the upcoming shows. Check out more of Mark’s work HERE.

bazan-house-show-joe-pyle

[photo courtesy of Joe Pyle Photography]

David’s first Living Room Tour of 2013 starts on April 23.

Tickets are on sale now at Undertow.

4/23/13 Tue – Portland OR – SOLD OUT
04/24/13 Wed – Eugene OR – SOLD OUT
04/25/13 Thu – Redding CA – SOLD OUT
04/26/13 Fri – Sacramento CA – SOLD OUT
04/27/13 Sat – San Francisco CA – SOLD OUT
04/28/13 Sun – Hollister CA – SOLD OUT
04/30/13 Tue – Los Angeles CA – SOLD OUT
05/01/13 Wed – Costa Mesa CA – SOLD OUT
05/02/13 Thu – Riverside CA – SOLD OUT
05/03/13 Fri – San Diego CA – SOLD OUT
05/04/13 Sat – Phoenix AZ – SOLD OUT
05/05/13 Sun – Tucson AZ – SOLD OUT
05/07/13 Tue – Graham TX – SOLD OUT
05/08/13 Wed – San Antonio TX – SOLD OUT
05/09/13 Thu – Houston TX – SOLD OUT
05/10/13 Fri – Baton Rouge LA – SOLD OUT
05/11/13 Sat – New Orleans LA – SOLD OUT
05/13/13 Mon – Orlando FL – SOLD OUT
05/14/13 Tue – Jacksonville FL – SOLD OUT
05/15/13 Wed – Augusta GA – SOLD OUT
05/16/13 Thu – Atlanta GA – SOLD OUT
05/17/13 Fri – Columbus GA – SOLD OUT
05/18/13 Sat – Birmingham AL – SOLD OUT
05/19/13 Sun – Memphis TN – SOLD OUT
05/21/13 Tue – St Louis MO – SOLD OUT
05/22/13 Wed – Kansas City MO – SOLD OUT
05/23/13 Thu – Tulsa OK – SOLD OUT
05/24/13 Fri – Oklahoma City OK – SOLD OUT
05/25/13 Sat – Lubbock TX – SOLD OUT
05/26/13 Sun – Los Alamos NM – SOLD OUT
05/27/13 Mon – Prescott AZ – SOLD OUT
05/28/13 Tue – Las Vegas NV – SOLD OUT
05/30/13 Thu – Davis CA – SOLD OUT
05/31/13 Fri – Chico CA – SOLD OUT
06/01/13 Sat – Phoenix OR – SOLD OUT
06/02/13 Sun – Portland OR – SOLD OUT